PDA

View Full Version : Black vs Clear mask skirt

Darmok
08-27-2007, 16:55
Hi!

I'm very very new to scuba diving (I'm going to do my OW in 2 weeks). I'm shopping for the basic gear and reading opinions... I have a question regarding clear skirts vs black skirts, what's better for a beginner? I would like to get into taking pictures later on and I've heard that the black skirt is better for that, but I dont really understand why the light coming in the mask would affect so much... any suggestions?

mwhities
08-27-2007, 16:56
Just go black. ;)

Michael

TAH 73
08-27-2007, 17:01
A clear mask can be a little "brighter" underwater and can be a little better for people predisposed to claustrophobia, whereas a black skirt doesn't turn yellow over time.

Zenagirl
08-27-2007, 17:15
Try both, see which one you like. If you're buying a mask from an LDS they should let you try them in the pool so you can see if you have a preference. I have one of each and don't feel there's much of a difference, so just pick whichever one I feel like wearing at the moment.

My husband is an underwater photographer and he wears a mask with a clear skirt, but prefers a single lens mask instead of the double ones.

BSea
08-27-2007, 17:24
I have used both. I like the clear skirts. But there really isn't much of a difference. I know the "ALL BLACK" crowd don't like the clear with color, but to each his own.

Darmok
08-27-2007, 17:31
Try both, see which one you like. If you're buying a mask from an LDS they should let you try them in the pool so you can see if you have a preference. I have one of each and don't feel there's much of a difference, so just pick whichever one I feel like wearing at the moment.

My husband is an underwater photographer and he wears a mask with a clear skirt, but prefers a single lens mask instead of the double ones.