PDA

View Full Version : Is there a Dr. in the house?

Bigake
08-20-2009, 17:13
I need help... About every second or third time that I go diving I have an ear issue....My right ear does not completely clear after the dive but not a serious problem.. I usually give it about 2 weeks to clear up but for some reason on certain occasions, it doesn't... Went to the Dr. today and got 2 shots,Rocephin and Celestone, and 2 prescriptions Azithromycin and Clarinex-D...
Why do I keep having this problem? I do the after dive Clear-ears drops thing but I keep having trouble?
Any advise?
Thanks,

Flatliner
08-20-2009, 18:33
If you are haveing problems, I would suggest you do a search for "ear beer" (I think it is 50% alcohol and 50% white vinegar) fill your ear and keep your head on the side for 5 full min. after the dive. Then turn over and do the other side. Those who have the same issue swear by this.

(in the interest of full disclosure I am not a doc, I am a nurse)

Bigake
08-20-2009, 20:02
Thanks Robert.... Dr. told me to dive again when I feel like it. I feel like it..Will try this Saturday after a local quarry dive...

tonka97
08-20-2009, 20:14
I need help... About every second or third time that I go diving I have an ear issue....My right ear does not completely clear after the dive but not a serious problem.. I usually give it about 2 weeks to clear up but for some reason on certain occasions, it doesn't... Went to the Dr. today and got 2 shots,Rocephin and Celestone, and 2 prescriptions Azithromycin and Clarinex-D...
Why do I keep having this problem? I do the after dive Clear-ears drops thing but I keep having trouble?
Any advise?
Thanks,

You may have an anatomic anomaly in your middle ear.

Some ears equalize pressures easily, some are more difficult.

I occasionally have the same difficulty as you, in one ear. A nuisance but manageable.

It doesn't necessarily involve any infection, more a difficulty of equalization.

Flatliner
08-20-2009, 20:23