PDA

View Full Version : will photoshop elements work?

scubagirlj
08-31-2009, 08:13
took a load of pics during vacation, naturally strobe crapped out on first shot(again) and am hoping to do color correction- can't afford photoshop but have elements-not sure how to do it as will be first time ever using application-everthing is clear just blue-please help! some of my pics are really colorful sponges, corals and reef fish-as you can tell i am a real newbie when it comes to u/w phototgraphy and not afraid to ask for help

gNats
08-31-2009, 10:09
I use Photoshop Elements. It will be fine for what you are trying to do. Here are some of the keystrokes you will use.

This isn't a class on Elements, so I am assuming you know how to work your way through the menus and find things.

Your best bet is to use the Elements "Full Edit" (I alway go from the Organizer to the editing tool).

If you are in the Organizer - press Ctrl + I.

From the Enhance menu, click Auto Levels. I would not use the Auto Smart Fix - too much going on.

Start with Auto Levels. You likey? Yes, but not enough Ooomph? Want more? Try Auto Sharpen.

I have also found that Auto Color Collection works nicely too.

Don't forget your contract modes. From the Enhance menu (this is the menu where everything for color correcting is located) Adjust Lighting and then you can adjust the basic contract or mid-tones and highlights.

This was the real high-level scream through. I went to Bonaire last January and the camera I was using had everything turn out dull. I didn't have a flash. All my fish, coral, everything seemed like it had a dull film over them.

I ran the pics through the Auto Levels and Elements brought my colors back to life and cleaned them up nicely.