PDA

View Full Version : Protein Power

Beefcake
09-21-2009, 12:08
Alright, I know "fad" diets aren't the best way to achieve true health, but I have been struggling with my weight a little bit for the last 8 years or so, so I am currently on one of the protein diets. My weight used to regulate itself pretty well when my lifestyle was more active (I used to be a ski instructor and play tournament softball), but a long-term relationship and raising her kids got in the way of my old activities and my six-pack stomach became a full case. I'm not orca-fat, but I had reached the point where my weight was affecting my energy levels, fitness, and overall sense of well-being. I'm 6'2" and started the diet weighing approx 265# two weeks ago. I started with the goal of getting below 240#, but I quickly adjusted that goal to 220# (if I'm going to do it, I might as well become a Beefcake once again).

I have done this program in the past, and I know that it works for me, but I also know the pitfalls. It was encouraging this morning to see the scale stop at 250#, but one of the effects of this diet is that it knocks off a bunch of water weight first, so I have really only lost about 8# so far (still not bad for 2 weeks). There will be more substantial weight loss over the next month to six-weeks, then there will be a serious plateau, but I have placed a scale next to my refridgerator to remind me of my goal.