PDA

View Full Version : Pilates....

BRsnow
09-28-2009, 16:44
I have started pilates as I herniated a few discs in my lower back and had lost much function in my left leg. I am very active so I have taken as many steps as possible to avoid any further episodes. I missed a full season of mountain biking and other activities due to the injury. I was still able to dive, so that worked out fine...

Pilates is something else, I thought I had a strong core and good breathing skills prior to...but I was wrong. I am just getting started and they difference is felt immediately for me. Looking forward to continued work, but can say this is the first exercise I have done that I believe will yield long term rewards....thought I would share...BR

Lulubelle
09-28-2009, 16:55
I have started pilates as I herniated a few discs in my lower back and had lost much function in my left leg. I am very active so I have taken as many steps as possible to avoid any further episodes. I missed a full season of mountain biking and other activities due to the injury. I was still able to dive, so that worked out fine...

Pilates is something else, I thought I had a strong core and good breathing skills prior to...but I was wrong. I am just getting started and they difference is felt immediately for me. Looking forward to continued work, but can say this is the first exercise I have done that I believe will yield long term rewards....thought I would share...BR

Do share your results. Herniated disks are generally thought to be impossible to fix once the pain gets to a certain level. If core strengthening can help you avoid the knife, then I might have a few friend to push in that direction.

BRsnow
09-28-2009, 17:06

Do share your results. Herniated disks are generally thought to be impossible to fix once the pain gets to a certain level. If core strengthening can help you avoid the knife, then I might have a few friend to push in that direction.