PDA

View Full Version : Light Selection

Formerly 45yroldNewbie
08-29-2007, 17:21
I was reading an article about approaching marine animals and it mentioned that your light could spook some snimals deeper into their holes and crevices if it was too bright. Makes sense. I was talking to a dive shop owner about lights and he reccomended one that could light up New York! Also makes sense for cave and wreck penetration dives.

I don't think I would be a cave diver, certainly not anytime soon. I might venture into wreck penetrations in a couple years once I have some more experience, so that leaves me with watching the fish and looking for marine life. Which will probably be my primary type of diving anyway.

Do different lights have different intensity built in or are they all pretty much on/off? What type/Brand/etc light should I be looking for?

Thanks in advance!

in_cavediver
08-29-2007, 18:43
I was reading an article about approaching marine animals and it mentioned that your light could spook some snimals deeper into their holes and crevices if it was too bright. Makes sense. I was talking to a dive shop owner about lights and he reccomended one that could light up New York! Also makes sense for cave and wreck penetration dives.

I don't think I would be a cave diver, certainly not anytime soon. I might venture into wreck penetrations in a couple years once I have some more experience, so that leaves me with watching the fish and looking for marine life. Which will probably be my primary type of diving anyway.

Do different lights have different intensity built in or are they all pretty much on/off? What type/Brand/etc light should I be looking for?

Thanks in advance!