PDA

View Full Version : Underwater Photography & Videography

GMDGeek
10-15-2009, 07:36
Been cruising around the forums and have not seen an dedicated area for Photography. Not sure if that is because it is not huge or if I am just missing the area that it is posted in. I'm curious as to what volume or feedback there would be if there was a dedicated forum area for Underwater Photography...

Reason I ask is I am an avid photographer on dry land and am looking to delv into Underwater Photography and want to get feedback from those with experience in the area before I spend $4-$5K on camera gear.

Thanks,
Gerry

DevilDiver
10-15-2009, 08:10
http://forum.scubatoys.com/underwater-photo/

GMDGeek
10-15-2009, 08:18
Thats what I was looking for - thanks :)

DevilDiver
10-15-2009, 08:48
No problem!!

Welcome to the board!

CompuDude
10-15-2009, 10:42
And, as nice as the people are here on this board, if you're really serious, you should spend some time at Wetpixel.com :: Underwater Photography and Videography (http://www.wetpixel.com) where the pros hang out.

scubadiver888
10-15-2009, 11:38
This is funny. I just logged in to post a question relating to photography. At the main list of forums I scanned the page (CTRL-F) for 'photography' and found this thread. There is nothing on the main forum web page that says 'photography'.

Once I read DevilDiver's post I searched for 'photo' and found it. I think I'll post this in website suggestions.

clavicl3
10-15-2009, 13:45
What kind of UW gear are you planning on buying?

scubadiver888
10-15-2009, 14:43
What kind of UW gear are you planning on buying?

I have a Nikon P6000 camera. So I was thinking about getting an Ikelite system. The housing with a DS51 strobe and the W-20 wide angle adapter. I've been told there are better arms out there then what comes from Ikelite. So I'm still deciding what kind of arm for the strobe.