PDA

View Full Version : Going from steel to aluminum

ontheheap
10-23-2009, 00:51
I have only used steel 80's so far, but was thinking of purchasing/trying an aluminum tank. I'm currently using 10lbs of weight for fresh water dives with the steel tank (though I think I'm a bit overweighted, actually). I've never used an aluminum before. In expect that I'll need to add more weight to make up for the difference between the materials.. is there any way to sort of guestimate the amount of extra weight I will need if I make the switch?

nrembis
10-23-2009, 00:58
will be best for you to do a quick weight check, but more than likely will be about 6lbs additional

ontheheap
10-23-2009, 01:06
Yea I'll definitely do a quick weight check. Thanks for providing me with a starting point!

CompuDude
10-23-2009, 01:55
Look at the bouyancy figures for your tank, measured empty (to simulate your lightest weight, at the end of a dive). Compare that to aluminum tank figures.

Most steel 80's (I assume LP?) are approx 1-2# negative. Aluminum 80s are 4# positive. The difference is about 6#, so yes, there is your starting point.

Scuba Cylinder Specifications from Tech Diving Limited - 928-855-9400 (http://www.tdl.divebiz.net/pub/tanks.html)

maverick
10-23-2009, 18:18
I went from Al80 2 steel80 and like steel better.

Tassie Diver
10-23-2009, 19:53
See if you can borrow an ally tank, before you buy one.

Pretty much everyone I dive with started on Al80s and then went to Faber steel 100s (12.2L/232bar).

Why do you want to go aluminium?

ratown
10-23-2009, 20:17
Definitely try one out first. They dive way different. I'm interested in why you're switching too.

underh2o
10-24-2009, 06:39