PDA

View Full Version : Lights for Newbies

Scout
08-30-2007, 13:16
I've been reading the threads on dive lights with interest since I'm a under-equipped noob. :smiley23:

I hope to be able to do a tropical trip once or twice a year, but most of my diving will be in fresh water. My local lake has visibility that ranges from a few inches to 15' feet depending on the conditions and I understand it's like nighttime 24/7 when going deeper than 10' during rainy season.

What kind of light(s) would cover the occasional tropical trip and some lake diving? I just received the latest Scuba Diving mag and I noticed that some of the lights are pretty big $$. Is there some recommendations for those of us that don't want to sell a kid to finance our dive obsession?

TxScubaBear
08-30-2007, 13:30
I just bought (from a member on another board) a real nice kit, Princeton Tec Ultimate Diver light kit I think it was called; you can get them new around $120? I got a good deal on it, not used but he heeded to sell it; the bigger one runs on I think 8 D-cells, the smaller 8 AA-batteries; watch the Used section or put a notice in the WTB; check out ST's web site for specials as well!

Here is some nice packages at ST:
http://www.scubatoys.com/store/Scuba_Light_Paks.asp

thor
08-30-2007, 15:01
I'm a big fan of the Printeton Tech Miniwave LED. I think ST sells it for $89. Don't buy a cheapo light, just to save some money. I would save up and buy the best light you can, for your needs. I believe this light is one of the best buys out there, although there are better lights available.

finflippers
08-30-2007, 15:33
I hope to be able to do a tropical trip once or twice a year, but most of my diving will be in fresh water. My local lake has visibility that ranges from a few inches to 15' feet depending on the conditions

I dive lakes with the same vis. and I am very happy with my UK SL6 that I use on most every dive. It is a great light for it's size.