PDA

View Full Version : deviated septum?

tomich
10-26-2009, 12:44
anybody have the surgery for a deviated septum?

how was diving, before and after?

Lulubelle
10-26-2009, 12:57
anybody have the surgery for a deviated septum?

how was diving, before and after?

tomich, I don't know how to rename this link, but the issue is thoroughly discussed here.

http://forum.scubatoys.com/general-scuba-training-questions/24356-diving-dream-crushed.html

I would have a DAN doc consult before you do anything.

inventor
10-26-2009, 13:05
I've had a deviated septum corrected. That was about four years ago, and I've been diving for about 14 months. Never had any issues with it. And actually, a few months after the surgery, broke my nose. No problems with diving. Though a lady I know that had it done, and reported also being very sensitive to ozone, such as put out by electrical equipment. Sensitive as in can smell it very easily, not causing discomfort.

oddbod
10-27-2009, 06:41
Had it done some 30 years ago, with a heap of other stuff on the old hooter, if I hadn't I wouldn't be able to dive as I couldn't breathe at all through my nose. Check with a good ENT Doc:smiley20:

aeropl
12-12-2009, 12:22
I just went to an ENT doctor a few days ago for this problem. It turns out that while I could have surgery to fix it, the deviation is moderate and can be managed. I have always had problems equalizing but have gotten much better as I've honed the technique and managed allergies. If you don't get it fixed the key is not having any sort of congestion in your nose while you dive. What sort of problems do you currently have while diving?

tomich
12-13-2009, 04:36
At about 10 feet, my right ear is much more difficult to equalize than my left one. Eventually it comes, but it takes much longer. I have visited several ENT's and they said that there is inflammation on that side and have suggested steroid spray, but it's not a permanent solution.