PDA

View Full Version : rescue diver

Nick
01-07-2010, 17:00
what do you have to do to be a rescue diver the reason im asking is im an emt and was wondering if theres is like a national regeristy type deal for it or what the process it

mitsuguy
01-07-2010, 17:04
rescue diver is simple, but tough...

simplicity - some book work, some time with an instructor, a 50 question final exam, some pool skills, then applying the skills learned in the pool in simulated open water emergencies...

no national registry other than your name in PADI's database...

Nick
01-07-2010, 18:45
thank you

in_cavediver
01-07-2010, 19:29
Nick,

The rescue diver is not what it sounds. This is a recreational dive class teaching mostly self rescue and buddy skills. This is NOT public safety diving such as a Dive Team nor does it qualify an individual to do public safety type of diving.

If you do want to go into those area's then yes, there are a couple of formal classes you can go through. These are more in line in with commercial dive classes though not recreational dive classes.

comet24
01-07-2010, 20:30
Rescue Diver is not a professional level water rescue class in any way and in no way does it come close to anything a true water rescue class does. Still a good class for most and does teach a few skills you wouldn't learn in most water rescue classes.

navyhmc
01-07-2010, 21:09
What they said...It is a stepping off point if you are intersted in that sort of thing. There are a number of Public Safety Diver programs/courses out there. If you are indeed interested in this area, the first step might be to look in your area for dive rescue teams and the like and work with them. While you may be able to get the PSD classes, without a team to work with, it's just so much training and money.

dannybot
02-10-2010, 19:30