PDA

View Full Version : Should I upgrade now or later?

kalokairi
09-03-2007, 04:19
I am new to diving and taking open water classes. My husband bought me an analog package but I want a computer. Is now the right time to upgrade and if so what should I consider? Thanks

Zenagirl
09-03-2007, 08:14
Why not get a computer if you want one? I did my OW certfication with guages, and as soon as I bought my own gear, a computer was part of it. I haven't dove guages since my 2nd post-certification dive and love my AI computer. I have well over 100 dives on it and still love it. :D

finflippers
09-03-2007, 08:18
I bought my computer the day I signed up for OW. If you are going to get a computer I would suggest to get a nitrox computer you can dive it on air and if you decide to go nitrox in the future you won't have to be upgrading again.

wkowalski
09-03-2007, 08:55
I would say get one, but after a few dives your taste may change.

scubasamurai
09-03-2007, 09:02
if your diving is going places and you think you will do any enriched air nitrox dives, after the class. you should get a computer that has that capability, most do but check anyway and some are upgradeable. also
see if your LDS rents computers and check them out of the dives you will be doing. like diving a sink hole at 100ft in the dark, does it have a back light? how are your eyes, big screen or little screen?? also downloadable for us computer geeks.. and remember more money doesn't mean a better computer.

fire diver
09-03-2007, 09:11
I also agree to get a nitrox capable computer. You don't have to abandon your guages, put a clip on them and clip them off to your left hip. And there you have a backup incase your computer dies, or gets broken or lost.

FD

ertechsg
09-03-2007, 09:21
Take a look at this (http://www.scubatoys.com/store/detail.asp?PRODUCT_ID=Atmos22Gauge) my wife uses it and loves it ..has a lot of extra features plus nitrox capability and its on sale not alot of money

skdvr
09-03-2007, 09:41