PDA

View Full Version : HELP with attaching the strobe to the housing



Okc_diver
05-27-2010, 15:01
almost every dive I did while in Cozumel I had problems with my strobe (sealife SL961 digital pro and olympus PT-044 housing). I have had problem after problem using my strobe while on vacation. The glue on the back of the velcro keeps coming off while I am diving. How can I prevent this. (did my last dive today)

Can I use something else besides the velcro? The camera even when before the glue came off it did not fire. The settings for the flash on the camera are: auto, red-eye, fill-in, and off. What setting should I use? Camera is Olympus FE-360

(I have a feeling I'm going to buy a new camera with housing and take a hammer to the old housing!)

DevilDiver
05-27-2010, 15:21
Sorry to hear about your frustration, especially while trying to enjoy your trip.

When you say you are using Velcro to attach the fiber optic cable do you mean plain Velcro strips that you rigged for a connection point or did you purchase a Velcro based cable attachment?

Give me some more details and I believe we can find something to help you out.

For your flash setting, you would most likely keep it on "forced flash" or "on" which should be represented as a lightning bolt, if you camera allows you to modify the cameras flash output you should be able to reduce the flash power to 1/4 or 1/2 to conserve battery power and still have the strobe sync.

Did you determine the correct pre-flash settings for the camera and set the strobe to compensate? The SL961 should have 5 setting options.

This is best tested in the mirror by taking a few test photos, you should be able to see the strobe fire in the picture.

gee
05-27-2010, 15:25
I'm not familiar with your set-up so I'll leave advice on settings to the photographer experts here. I had a lot of gripes with that velcro/adhesive attachment you have & I was ready to do try something else because it kept coming off the uw housing and there are a few other alternatives. However, I found that cleaning all the mating surfaces with isopropyl alcohol and letting everything air dry completely before attaching those velcro pads has resulted in a somewhat permanent attachment to the (ikelite) case for over a year.

cyclone3565
05-27-2010, 15:29
I know exactly what you are talking about. I have a Sony with the Fiber Optic Kit. What I do is insert fresh batteries (only Energizer Lithium will do and then I wrap electrical tape around the housing, holding the velcro in place. Then I attach it to the tray. At the end of the day, remove tape, replace batteries, retape, ready to go. Works great, never any problems.

Okc_diver
05-27-2010, 15:34
I am using the sea life flashlink that holds the fiber optic cable in a housing and a round velcro pad with a hole in the middle that attaches to it. The second round velcro attaches to the camera housing. I have no problem with the velcro on the housing just the one on the fiber optic cable. I went through 4 this week (had extras) went looking in town and noone sells them.

Okc_diver
05-27-2010, 15:35
Oh and the batteries were new. I opened the package the night before my first dive.

DevilDiver
05-27-2010, 16:38
I am using the sea life flashlink that holds the fiber optic cable in a housing and a round velcro pad with a hole in the middle that attaches to it. The second round velcro attaches to the camera housing. I have no problem with the velcro on the housing just the one on the fiber optic cable. I went through 4 this week (had extras) went looking in town and noone sells them.


OK... take a look, if you don't like this let me know and I will find another option.

You said you have the Oly housing, so it has the diffuser, right?


http://www.backscatter.com/hostedstore/images/products/detail/xit-ssfom.jpg
This custom fiber optic plug mount slips over the stock Olympus diffuser and allows Sea & Sea fiber optic cords to be used.
Xit 404 Sea & Sea Fiber Optic Mount for Olympus Housings (http://www.backscatter.com/HostedStore.LassoApp?-ResponseLassoApp=detail.lasso&ID=94f7a3c26fc2c3c35082af83f59cea8f)

All you have to do then is add this to the end of the cable and you have secure but removable plug set up for your fiber optic.
Xit 404 Inon to Sea & Sea Fiber Optic Cable Adapter (http://www.backscatter.com/HostedStore.LassoApp?-ResponseLassoApp=detail.lasso&ID=c75e79010b75e47221f46055c544e456)

http://www.backscatter.com/hostedstore/images/products/detail/xit-infoa.jpg

DevilDiver
05-27-2010, 17:20
Here is another opition, not real sure if this would be more secure than the origional though.

Diffuser kit L for attach dual fiber optical cable.

10Bar Diffuser Kit L for Dual Fiber Optic Cable #PA-DF-L (http://www.divervision.com/catalog/-p-749.html)
http://www.divervision.com/catalog/images/product/10bar/PA-DF-L_1.jpg (http://javascript<b></b>:popupWindow('http://www.divervision.com/catalog/-pi-749.html'))

Straegen
05-27-2010, 18:31
Electrical tape (not the super cheap stuff) worked well for me. I have since switched to Gorilla tape and I have little doubt that stuff will outlast the housing.

mitsuguy
05-28-2010, 05:22
Here is another opition, not real sure if this would be more secure than the origional though.

Diffuser kit L for attach dual fiber optical cable.

10Bar Diffuser Kit L for Dual Fiber Optic Cable #PA-DF-L (http://www.divervision.com/catalog/-p-749.html)
http://www.divervision.com/catalog/images/product/10bar/PA-DF-L_1.jpg (http://javascript<b></b>:popupWindow('http://www.divervision.com/catalog/-pi-749.html'))

My sync cord attachment looks like that - works beautifully...

Sticks great (do make sure the surface is completely clean), and the attachment between the two plastic pieces is supposedly stronger than velcro per square inch... (I also bought some for another purpose, and it is great - I don't see it wearing out like velcro does)

Defman
05-28-2010, 05:49
I had the same problem with my Sea-life Flashlink on my Sony housing, a little contact cement solved that problem.

rayaa3
05-28-2010, 06:01
The sea and sea cable mount looks pretty cool.

Okc_diver
05-28-2010, 15:41
OK... take a look, if you don't like this let me know and I will find another option.

You said you have the Oly housing, so it has the diffuser, right?



This custom fiber optic plug mount slips over the stock Olympus diffuser and allows Sea & Sea fiber optic cords to be used.
Xit 404 Sea & Sea Fiber Optic Mount for Olympus Housings (http://www.backscatter.com/HostedStore.LassoApp?-ResponseLassoApp=detail.lasso&ID=94f7a3c26fc2c3c35082af83f59cea8f)

All you have to do then is add this to the end of the cable and you have secure but removable plug set up for your fiber optic.
Xit 404 Inon to Sea & Sea Fiber Optic Cable Adapter (http://www.backscatter.com/HostedStore.LassoApp?-ResponseLassoApp=detail.lasso&ID=c75e79010b75e47221f46055c544e456)




Yes the camera has a diffuser. Will the fiber optic mount work with a sealife strobe or just the sea & sea strobe?

DevilDiver
05-28-2010, 15:53
Yes, the mount attaches to the diffuser and then you attach the adapters to the end of the fiber optic. The adapters are inserted into the holes on the mount that was attached to the diffuser. The cabels are held in place by the o-rings on the adapters.

This way the fiber optic cables can be pluged into the mount or removed at anytime.

Okc_diver
05-28-2010, 16:00
Looks like I will be buying that when I get back to the states. Thanks DevilDiver for the help!

MikeJoan
03-23-2013, 15:23
DD - Can you help me? I'm desperate. Leaving for Galapagos Thursday. I can't get a dual SL961 Sealife strobe to work on my Canon WPDC34 Housing. I don't have enough room for two Velcro patches to trigger both strobes. I can only trigger one or the other. Any ideas? Do they make the dual Oly box you suggested to the other person for the Canon housing? Any help is much appreciated.




You said you have the Oly housing, so it has the diffuser, right?


http://www.backscatter.com/hostedstore/images/products/detail/xit-ssfom.jpg
This custom fiber optic plug mount slips over the stock Olympus diffuser and allows Sea & Sea fiber optic cords to be used.
Xit 404 Sea & Sea Fiber Optic Mount for Olympus Housings (http://www.backscatter.com/HostedStore.LassoApp?-ResponseLassoApp=detail.lasso&ID=94f7a3c26fc2c3c35082af83f59cea8f)

All you have to do then is add this to the end of the cable and you have secure but removable plug set up for your fiber optic.
Xit 404 Inon to Sea & Sea Fiber Optic Cable Adapter (http://www.backscatter.com/HostedStore.LassoApp?-ResponseLassoApp=detail.lasso&ID=c75e79010b75e47221f46055c544e456)

http://www.backscatter.com/hostedstore/images/products/detail/xit-infoa.jpg[/QUOTE]

DevilDiver
03-23-2013, 21:43
MikeJoan,

Yes this should work for your housing if it has the difusser that should have come with it. It is not specific to Oly at all. It slides down onto the top of the difusser and the two screws are used to sucure it to the diffuser. You will need to get plug adapters for your F/O cable, the one pictured above will work but they make other ones as well. Just describe what you are trying to do to the rep from the camera store that you are planning to oder from and they should be able to hook you up with what you need.

Okc_diver
03-24-2013, 20:09
I dd buy those adapters for my camera and they were easy to install just don't do what I did and over tighten it. But I shouldn't have anymore problems with my camera/strobe anymore I upgraded to the DC1400 after my lat trip to Cozumel. I went to put my camera in the camera bucket only to find my u/w case was open and the camera was not there. It is still in Cozumel underwater (somewhere).

DevilDiver
03-26-2013, 19:15
I went to put my camera in the camera bucket only to find my u/w case was open and the camera was not there. It is still in Cozumel underwater (somewhere).

That is the first time I have heard that one. It's pretty common for people to loose camera in the u/w case that they have clipped off where they are not paying attention to them but I have never heard anyone loosing the camera because the case opened. Was the latch damaged?