PDA

View Full Version : womens wetsuit

Ocean
07-13-2007, 00:22
I'm a newbie to the scuba world and I'm trying to find out about gear. First stop is the wetsuit. I purchased a NeoSport 3mm that has a great fit. (tried a few others @ ST) I also ordered the Mares Tropic which was a great fit except seals: @ ankles and wrist (rather important) were 1/2in loose and the arm length was ridiculously long - it came to my first knuckle just off my fingertips! I realize the fit may not be perfect off the rack but are there any "dream suits" out there that are better quality, reasonably priced, and tend to run true-to-size? Maybe more realistically, one that is customer preferred? I am keeping the Neosport as a must-have for a trip to the Bahamas soon but will be looking for "my suit" once back home. - maybe just wear out the Neo first? Also, any opinions on what comes next? BC? Reg? (Have fins and mask) Thanks for the help and info!

CompuDude
07-13-2007, 02:16
Some women are lucky enough to fit off the rack. Women's body shapes and sizes vary more than men's, however, so custom suits are a good option, and usually not much (if any) more than a good high end off-the-rack suit.

I've heard good feedback about: http://www.liquidfit.com

Ocean
07-13-2007, 22:35
Thanks for the link. I'll look into it. Do u happen to know how much $ these kinds of wetsuits run? I know there are bell and whistles to add but I'm asking about a ballpark figure here. Also, are there any hints/tips in buying a custom suit or do u just assume they know what they are doing?</font>

CompuDude
07-14-2007, 05:03
No clue re cost, but a quick call will take care of that.

They know what they're doing.

georoc01
07-14-2007, 10:23
My lady friends swear by the Henderson Hyperstretch suits.
<DIV></DIV>
<DIV>To me, Reg is first before even a suit as I am more concerned with breathing than getting cold. Of course, I worked out one of those packages where I ended up with my reg, BC and computer all at once!</DIV>