PDA

View Full Version : Is this normal!?!? - Navigation vs. Guided

bmp51
07-13-2007, 02:11
<DIV></DIV>
<DIV>I have noticed with some diver groups, more and more divers are doing less “Dive work” Navigation, exploration etc. and just following the leader on guided dives….<?:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office" /></DIV>

Do you think going on chartered dive trips all the time weakens you as a diver???

How many divers actually practice basic navigation, and run your safety drills every now and again?? Do a table or 2 just for a refresher? (other than in the next level of certification class..)

I am fairly new to diving, but have heard things like “ah don’t worry about it they will bring us up long before we hit a deco time” or “don’t worry about the dept, they won’t take us past 60 ft on this dive…” and my all time favorite “don’t worry about your air consumption, the dive will be over with long before you run out of air”

Is this normal??? Are divers and the diving community seriously taking the “put my life in their hands” attitude?

Just wondering what your experience has been and what you thought….

cummings66
07-13-2007, 09:33
Yes, playing follow the leader does not reinforce nor introduce new skills.
<DIV></DIV>

TxHockeyGuy
07-13-2007, 11:05
I think a lot of the vacation destination places are doing nothing but guided dives. They have to play to the lowest common denominational which is the OW diver who just completed certification right before they left on vacation and is not yet aware of how to properly navigate. They also have to cater to those who do not dive on a regular basis and therefor have rusty skills.

My local diving is the exact opposite. You only see DM's with training classes and if you have no navigation skills it's not terribly difficult to get lost in a quarry. You have to plan your own dive.

CompuDude
07-13-2007, 13:04