PDA

View Full Version : hi altitude diving " confused "

jeff baird
07-24-2010, 11:06
I'm a trk driver that lives in the Dallas area, and run back and forth to CA. , I have been carrying my gear, and stop about once a week and dive blue hole in Santa Rosa NM.
Blue Hole is 4600 feet in altitude, and 80' deep,, When I dive there I do not have the time to aclimate to the altitude, I have been adding 14' to the depth and doing a decompession stop at 15', and have not had any trouble, and note I usually only do 1 dive.
Question,,,,, Within 7 hours of me leaving Blue Hole, I cross a mountain pass that is at 8000 feet in altitude,, after talking to another diver he seems to think I should adjust tables to to highest altitude that I will cross within hours of diving, which would 8000' ,,, and I believe that adds approx 26' to tables and change decom. stop to around 12'.
There are days I have time to do a 2nd dive, but have been a little confused on tables for altitude, any info would be appreciated......... thanks jeff

comet24
07-24-2010, 13:27
I don't have much experience diving at altitude but know you shouldn't dive and then travel to a higher altitude. Kinda like diving and flying. DAN should have some info on this.

SlvrDragon50
07-24-2010, 13:46
I would avoid diving and high altitudes as much as possible but I think you can still do it safely.

In 7 hours SI, most people return to group A (don't have tables on hand to be sure). Just exactly what are you having trouble with?

Just add 26' to your depth and then adjust accordingly. I'd be a bit more conservative and go 30'.

scubastud
07-24-2010, 14:23
Got me thinking, do computers factor in altitude ? Some of them.. all of them none?

SlvrDragon50
07-24-2010, 15:06
My Nitek does. There are "Conservative Levels" - SF0,SF1,SF2 - which you set according to altitude or if you just wanna be conservative.

Chilly
07-24-2010, 20:56