PDA

View Full Version : Training Question

Zyxistal
09-12-2007, 17:33
Ok I'll admit that I'm a NOOB when it comes to diving and as such this will be a very NOOB question but if you don't ask you don't learn so here goes.

I'm currently working on my PADI OW certification (waiting to get a clear weekend to get my checkout dives done, every time I try something comes up at work) my wife however got her training through NAUI. One of the things I was told by my instructor was that because there isn't a 'set' training plan that certain agencies teach different techniques when it comes to diving 'skills'.
My question is, is there that much of a difference in training that it could ever cause a problem.
Thanks for the info.

finflippers
09-12-2007, 17:41
They all teach you the stuff that you need to know to dive safely. The agency that you use isn't as important as the instructor that is teaching you.

ertechsg
09-12-2007, 17:44
They are all about the same clear mask ..recov reg.. weight ditch ect so not to much differant

ScubaToys Larry
09-12-2007, 17:55
I've been an instructor for both agencies, and the only real difference in the classes at the open water level, is through Naui, you do more rescue training in the open water. Bringing an unconscious diver to the surface and starting rescue breathing, bringing up a snorkeler that suffered shallow water black out... while in Padi, you just do a tired diver tow.

There is also more academic stuff in the Naui class. Might be fun to crack the books side by side and compare.

But over all, the Naui guys have not learned any tricky ways to clear a mask that the Padi guys haven't heard about, and the Padi guys don't know an extra way to inflate a BC that Naui is clueless about.

So relax in the water... come up slow... and don't hold your breath!

mm_dm
09-12-2007, 19:26