PDA

View Full Version : Yes I know I am a man.....

DLXM Cayman
09-12-2007, 20:59
but I wanted to ask your advice in terms of my wife starting her open water certification after having a baby. Our baby was born three weeks ago and although she is not up to it yet had hoped to start in November. Anyone know of any reasons why not? (no comlications, all healthy, she is 27). Any advice gratefully received.

scuba Widow
09-12-2007, 21:38
Sorry I don't have any info on the subject, just wanted congratulate you on the baby. Girl or Boy? Name?

Osprey
09-12-2007, 22:10
LOL Indeed congrats, as for your Q I personally don't think it'd be an issue by then, since she's already healthy! But I'm NOOOO expert, maybe call your doctor? He'd prolly know!

divechaplain-sara
09-13-2007, 00:30
Doesn't she have a follow up with her doc about 6 weeks post delivery? Ask the doctor then. I can't think of any reasons why it should be an issue, but I'm not a doctor.

DLXM Cayman
09-13-2007, 08:04
yes she does have a check up then and given the number of divers here, he should know! Thanks

mwhities
09-13-2007, 08:12
My wife and I had a baby boy just over 10 weeks ago. The doctor told her to not lift or do anything that would cause her to strain. Granted, she had a c-section but, her (your wife's) body is still repairing it's self and I think I'd have my wife hold off until after the 6 weeks check up.

Just my opinion, take it as you will. I'd rather error on the side of safety.

Michael

Foo2
09-13-2007, 09:32