PDA

View Full Version : Westboro Baptist Church

Vercingetorix
11-15-2010, 09:38
This may belong in the Hot Topcs sub-forum. I dunno. You tell me.

Just read an article in which the members of the WBC were doing one of their protests. Not only were they drowned out by 1000 counter-protestors, but their minivan's tires were slashed. They couldn't find anybody locally to fix their tires.

The WBC angers me. I am a vet. I come from a military family (4 of 5 of the immediate family served; the fifth tried, but unable to do so). I am Christian, but not a right-wing fundy. The WBC drives people away from religion, any religion. Folks look at them and think, "well, if that's the way religious people think, I don't want to be part of that".

Their protests are an insult to those who served and died. Their protests hurt the parents and loved ones grieving and in pain for their recent loss.

I understand First Amendment "Freedom of Speech" rights. Those rights were placed to preserve political discourse. However, a funeral is neither the time nor the place to exercise those rights. This is not the place to display his signs that say "Thank God for Dead Soldiers".

There are qualities called decency, understanding, caring, sympathy, and empathy. These need to be exercised in a world where "it's a free country, and I can say what I want" takes precedence or being a human being.

I am tempted. When one of Fred Phelps' children dies (other than his sons who already despise him), I am tempted to go to Witchita,KS and stand outside the funeral with a sign,
"Thank God for Dead Phelps Children".

I just don't have it in me to be that cruel.

russp
11-15-2010, 09:42
It's always amazed me how much evil is and has been done in the name of religion.

Rileybri
11-15-2010, 09:44