PDA

View Full Version : Q: Fin Strap comparison

nathan
09-18-2007, 11:50
I've been diving for a few years, and use Scuba Pro Jet Fins. When I first got them I remeber reading something about folks swaping the standard rubber fin straps with sping type metal straps.

Anyways I never got around to doing it, and last month in the bahamas I was returning to the surface at the end of a dive and almost lost a fin, when the strap came loose.

Anyways I've decided I need to install some of those fancy DIR type finstraps on my Jet Fins but I have no idea on venders.

Anyways I found these three products on Scuba Toys and was wondering if anyone has an opinion which one is better. Honestly price is not a huge issue to me, (but I don't want like gold-plated lol). I just wanna know which is best and probably i'll buy that one.

I dive mostly open warm water, and on a few occasions some easy wreck stuff. For the most part I don't get into the overly complex deco/cave/tech dives but honestly what i'm reading about DIR principles sound good. Do It Right, Keep it Simple, and the less complex the less things can break! I think all three of these would be perfectly fine for me, but I value peoples opinions, and pretty much want someone to say "omg doin't get this one because of ________" or "this brand is more comfortable / streamline then the others" or something.

Thanks!

"Universal Spring Fin Straps"
http://scubatoys.com/store/detail.asp?PRODUCT_ID=UniversalSpringFinStraps

"Manta Spring Straps"
http://scubatoys.com/store/detail.asp?PRODUCT_ID=MantaSpringStrap

"C Strap"
http://scubatoys.com/store/detail.asp?PRODUCT_ID=Cstrap

http://scubatoys.com/store/fins/pics/xsscubasprings.jpghttp://scubatoys.com/store/fins/pics/springstraps.jpghttp://scubatoys.com/store/fins/pics/Cstrap.jpg

RonFrank
09-18-2007, 12:00
The CStrap requires one to remove the old post. IMO that is not a great solution, and not needed as there are plenty of spring straps for pin style fins available.