PDA

View Full Version : Why not a Zeagle Scout?

84turboz
09-18-2007, 21:34
Ok, newbie here again. After researching this board and scubaboard.com I'm thinking about getting the Scout. Only do warm water rec. diving. I like the light weight and easy packing, apparently less restricting design, & excellent reputation. So what's the down side of this BC? Is the 24 lb lift a problem?
Is the weight capacity really going to be a problem for my type of diving?
Price looks very reasonable. Am I missing something besides the "everyone has their own favorite"? Have to say though, I like the idea of having another "Z" (other is an 84 Turbo Z), but this not really why I like this BC.

ScubaToys Larry
09-18-2007, 21:40
Zeagle is a great product, and the scout is a nice little BC. What you don't get that you would with something like a brigade is the ripcord weight system (you do get the rear trim pockets - but not to easy to ditch) and the brigade would also have a lot more attachment points (very fancy way of saying d-rings!) and it's made of sturdier material and a larger bladder. It also has the ability to swap out bladders and swap to doubles in case later in your diving career you change your diving styles and desires.

Are those features worth an extra $150 or so?? If not for you - then the scout is perfect! If that sounds like a lot of extra options for that amount of money then move up a notch.

DevilDiver
09-18-2007, 21:44
This is a great BC for this type of diving.
Have you tried it on? Does it have the features you want? Comfort and prefomance are the real issues. Of course it has to look good as well......

crpntr133
09-18-2007, 23:04
Why not a Scout?? Because you are just plain insane!! Well OK, insane if you don't go with the Zeagle line.

keyshunter
09-19-2007, 04:54
I would consider the Zeagle Stiletto. Heavy duty construction, comes with ripcord system and rear weight pockets, and is still very packable.

bluering
09-19-2007, 05:36