PDA

View Full Version : Knoxville Tennessee Diving

SharpDog
09-19-2007, 07:18
Hi,
I gather that most of the diving in this area is in the quarries and maybe Norris lake. What about diving in Melton Hill Lake or Loudon?

I am very new to diving but I am looking for some local trips next summer.

Pete

danielh03
10-09-2007, 00:50
I would like some info on this as well. I am confined to the few quarries in this area, and black water in the KY lake!

Ohmdiver
11-11-2007, 10:54
I am looking for an excuse to visit ky to "see my nephew" ....

:smilie40:

philmayer
11-11-2007, 15:21
I dive at Philadelphia quarry many weekends. It's very clean and the temps aren't bad. Viz is 40 feet most of the time. They have some training platforms, a PPB course, and lots of cool ceramic things UW. Entry is $10 per diver and $3 per non-diver. Air fills are not available on site. Yet.

I've dived Loch Low-Minn Quarry a couple times, but don't like it as much. It's 30 minutes farther for me and they have WAAAAAYYYYY to many rules for me. No smoking, no children, now BBQs, only open on weekends, etc. They've already closed for the year. They reopen in May I think. There's quite a bit of algae in the water and the viz runs about 20' on a great day. Entry is $20 per diver. They have air fills available on-site.

I haven't dived the lakes around here. They are REALLY cold. Even in the summer. Norris Lake is the one I hear talked about most. Viz averages about 5'.

IrishSquid
11-11-2007, 19:43
I dive at Philadelphia quarry many weekends. It's very clean and the temps aren't bad. Viz is 40 feet most of the time. They have some training platforms, a PPB course, and lots of cool ceramic things UW. Entry is $10 per diver and $3 per non-diver. Air fills are not available on site. Yet.