PDA

View Full Version : new fins or keep with what I like?

jimmysdevoted
09-19-2007, 12:15
I was at an old site and reading some old books. And they were talking about the length of a fin( from the end of the foot pocket to the end of the fin) should be the length of the persons shin plus knee cap for ultimate propulsion and comfort. I just wanted to say that its so true!
Too short of a fin and I felt no extra bouancy and too long I felt like I was competing with the fin. Ok enough said about that. I get a lot of strange looks when I pull out my US divers cheapie pair of powerflex fins.
I am looking into new ones but I like the set from US divers. I like the feel of the mask and the fins. Should I change or go fancy?

NitroWill
09-19-2007, 12:22
Stick with what works for you! I've been using the same fins for 4 years!

BobArnold8265
09-19-2007, 12:27
I'm not one to make changes unless I really have a reason. Seems to me if you like your old fins you should stick with them. If on the other hand, new fins make you feel more comfortable or allow to enjoy diving more then go for it. I guess it comes down to what will give you the most enjoyment. Would spending money on new fins give you as much pleasure as spending it on something else (or for that mater saving it) ???

scubasavvy
09-22-2007, 19:39
Unless something is wrong with your old fins, I wouldn't change them. Not worth the money or the hassle, especially if you don't like the new ones...

crpntr133
09-22-2007, 22:57
I was at an old site and reading some old books. And they were talking about the length of a fin( from the end of the foot pocket to the end of the fin) should be the length of the persons shin plus knee cap for ultimate propulsion and comfort. I just wanted to say that its so true!
Too short of a fin and I felt no extra bouancy and too long I felt like I was competing with the fin. Ok enough said about that. I get a lot of strange looks when I pull out my US divers cheapie pair of powerflex fins.