PDA

View Full Version : What do you like about wreck diving?

RevDoc
09-20-2007, 07:37
Hello!

I'm a newbie diver and have a question. This has been a lifelong dream of mine and I love it. However, I live in the midwest, so barring significant travel the most opportunities I have to dive are on wrecks in the Great Lakes etc. I have yet to do my first wreck dive and I would love some input. What do you like about it? Thanks for any insight you might have!

Philip

creggur
09-20-2007, 16:27
I'll be watching this thread with you, and I hope we hear from some of the experienced wreck guys on this.

I can't wait to dive a wreck because I love ships, my goal is to dive the Oriskany off of Pensacola. Just the thought of hovering around an aircraft carrier, or any other military boat for that matter just fascinates me....Reading 3 books about wreck diving recently has also captured my fascination with it....

Charles R
09-20-2007, 16:32
Its peaceful and timeless there are alot of wildlife that live on the wreaks just don't get over excited an do a penetration without proper training. it can be very dangerous.

Cheddarchick
09-20-2007, 18:37
As you descend, light get dimmer, your imagination starts to go on overload. You think of the one moment that time stood still forever in. Thoughts of the lost affect the logical parts of your brain, you know there is no one there, but a cold finger traces down your back. Seriously, the wrecks in the Great Lakes are some of the most pristine in the world....You might never want to go to the sea after you see these....

subsur
09-20-2007, 18:55
1. it's a like going to a history museum;
2. there is something surreal about wrecks;
3. pure adventure;

GrtLks
09-20-2007, 19:52