PDA

View Full Version : Max Depth?

Darth Fishhead
09-22-2007, 22:23
Is my OW Cert limited to a certain depth? I've never got a good answer on that. I realize that I should definitely stay within 130 ft. but is there a limiting factor beyond that?

Also, I know that there are no "Scuba Police" that will revoke my card if I exceed a certain depth. But, I did a 90 ft dive this past summer, and obviously survived, but is there some extra training I should have had first?

DivingsInMyBlood
09-22-2007, 22:46
should be 60 feet for OW you need more training to go deeper (its good that you do get more training as the risks increase). After OW its a good idea to take AOW.

FishFood
09-22-2007, 22:51
Im fairly new at this to. I dont understand what the training difference would be for 60ft or 90ft?

Either way remember the basics...

Dont come up to quick.
Stop for your safety stop
DONT go past your no-deco limits
etc, etc

The only difference I can see is, if you do F-up, the probablity of dieing will be greater at depth...

crpntr133
09-22-2007, 23:01
OW is for 60'.

Theory is that anything beyond 60' nitrogen narcosis can kick in. If you aren't prepared for it then it can be a BIG surprise. I'm sure that there are more reasons than just narcosis.

DivingsInMyBlood
09-22-2007, 23:19
You need more training, might even need more gear like a flashlight and a reel, strobe the list could go on for where you would dive or what you want to do. I dont really have an interest to go deeper than 60 feet untill I do my AOW course so I know what I'm getting myself into and have the right training. Anything deeper than 60 feet can be classed as a deep dive.

texdiveguy
09-22-2007, 23:37
In general a new o/w diver will fine great ops and experience in the industry set 60ft. of depth.

As you progress in your skills and dive exposure you can add depth if you wish.

Use your head and follow your comfort zone.