PDA

View Full Version : Depth gauge problem



TRACI
09-24-2007, 17:38
I have a 2 gauge console that has a depth gauge and pressure gauge and the depth gauge is not working at all. Is is less than a year old, is there anything to do to fix this? I use a computer, but I would like the depth gauge on the console to work as a back up.

scubasavvy
09-24-2007, 17:43
What company is it made by? They should have some sort of warranty for it. I'd contact them or have your LDS look at it...

Damselfish
09-24-2007, 20:31
worse comes to worse, you should be able to take the non functioning gauge out of the console and put in a different one. But if this was new and less than a year old I'd definitely be looking into the warrenty.

crpntr133
09-24-2007, 21:22
Usually not much that can be done. There should be a hole in the gauge someplace..hidden in the console, make sure that there is nothing blocking it. Just don't stick anything down it.

quasimoto
09-24-2007, 21:50
Pretty much they either work or they don't. Send it back to place of purchase.

subsur
09-24-2007, 21:53
i believe there is a 1 year warranty for brass depth gauges (dive rite, oms etc) since they all are made by some company in italy. I'm nore sure about other depth gauges.

jwagner
09-27-2007, 19:36
Let SV take care of it for you.

Kidder
09-27-2007, 20:02
I thought that you can get depth gauges repaired at an LDS. In any event you should be able to swap it out. The warrenty should still be good. I think that most warranties are two years.

comet24
09-28-2007, 12:40
I would contact the store I bought it at and see what there will do. Do you know what the warranty was on it. Either way most will pop right out of the console and you can just replace the broken gauge.

tbuckalew
09-28-2007, 12:53
Take it to the LDS and see if they service what they buy. If it is less than a year old and not damaged, it is probably covered under warranty. If not, there is a chance it is a simple fix and won't cost much. In any event, if the gauge itself must be replaced, since it is analog, it probably won't be too much of a burden.