PDA

View Full Version : HP, LP, AL? what does any of that mean

franksrq
09-29-2007, 09:32
I am new to diving and (until i read some of the threads here) have no idea what any of this stuff means. Could someone give me a quick rundown on the different tank materials and the pros/cons of each? how many diferent metals are tanks made out of and what sizes/pressures/cubic feet of air can each material hold?

fire diver
09-29-2007, 10:07
Well, tanks are either AL (aluminum) or AA (steel). Some tankd have an AL inner shell and are wrapped in fiberglass, but these are rarities indiving, and almost never seen.

LP is low pressure. Typically only rated to about 2400 - 2600 PSI
HP is high pressure, and is typically rated for about 3500 - 3600 PSI.
Normal AL tanks are rated for 3000 PSI.

There is only one type of AL currently being used (6061 IIRC), but used to be made from 6351 for a while. 6351 tanks are banned by many dive shops for safety reasons, but many of those tanks are still in use (I have 2 that I fill and use myself).

AL tanks are cheaper than AA, and are what you find in most rental fleets. If you are used to diving the standard AL80 (80 cubic feet of gas, but it's really only holding 77.6 CF) then everywhere you go in the US, or Caribbean or Mex, you will already be used to that type of tank.

AA tanks are more expensive but are considered to be more robust. AA tanks are also heavier (more negatively bouyant in water) so diving with steels, means less lead on your belt.

AL tanks are actually about 3 pounds positively bouyant when near empty.

Capacities are anywhere from 3cf to 130cf.

FD

reefugee
09-29-2007, 10:17
Frank,

I am pretty new to tanks, but I will explain what I know. I am sure other members will chime in and correct me if I am wrong.