PDA

View Full Version : My first attempt at posting pictures



BobArnold8265
10-04-2007, 12:20
Thought I try to post a couple of pictures from my Bonaire trip. I hope this works !!

http://forum.scubatoys.com/C:\Documents and Settings\ARNOLDB\My Documents\My Pictures\New Folder\octo1a.jpg

http://forum.scubatoys.com/C:\Documents and Settings\ARNOLDB\My Documents\My Pictures\New Folder\turtle_2a.jpg

BobArnold8265
10-04-2007, 12:27
OK, that didn't seem to work. Bet the file size was too large. I'll try again after resizing the photos. Here we go:

http://forum.scubatoys.com/C:\Documents and Settings\ARNOLDB\My Documents\My Pictures\New Folder\Turtle_2c.jpg


http://forum.scubatoys.com/C:\Documents and Settings\ARNOLDB\My Documents\My Pictures\New Folder\octo1c.jpg

BobArnold8265
10-04-2007, 12:27
OK gang, I've tried to post pictures twice now and can't get it to work. Any advice ???

dawnskies
10-04-2007, 13:13
are your pictures hosted on a website? in order to use them in a forum, the have to be. Image shack and picture trail are easy free sites to host your pics at. Some swear by photobucket and flickr, but the other two have suited me just fine.

diversteve
10-04-2007, 13:54
It's hard to tell what's wrong but it appears that you're trying to post images directly from your computer's C: drive. This is the properties for one of your images above:

http://forum.scubatoys.com/C:/Documents%20and%20Settings/ARNOLDB/My%20Documents/My%

You need to put them in the Scubatoys Photo Gallery and then link to them here. First upload them, then copy the code below each picture and use it in your post.

After you've added them to your photo gallery, click the image button in the quick reply post window here (the yellow one that looks like mtn's & the sun) and past the code in from the Direct Link Code box under each image in your gallery.

so this code:

http://forum.scubatoys.com/gallery/files/9/2/irukandjijellyfish.jpg

yields this:

http://forum.scubatoys.com/gallery/files/9/2/irukandjijellyfish.jpg

BobArnold8265
10-04-2007, 15:35
Thanks for the help. I'll try to post them again tomorrow when I have a little more time.

TommyB
10-04-2007, 15:44
You can not post pics that reside on your local PC using the img tags
that type of image posting is used for posting images that reside on either this site, or some other webserver.

you can use the attach to put your pic in a post that resides on your local PC. This will make it a thumbnail, that is clickable to a larger picture.

The other (best way to add pics) is to use the gallery.

Tommy ///

BobArnold8265
10-05-2007, 10:29
Thanks for the advice everyone. I uploaded a few pictures to the photo gallery and will try to attach two of them here. Hopefully, this time it'll work !!!http://forum.scubatoys.com/gallery/files/1/2/3/1/Turtle_2a.jpg

http://forum.scubatoys.com/gallery/files/1/2/3/1/Octo1.jpg

unclepooty
10-05-2007, 10:50
my first try as well
http://forum.scubatoys.com/gallery/files/3/1/9/eagleray_thumb.jpg
http://forum.scubatoys.com/gallery/files/3/1/9/eagleray_thumb.jpg

Chad
10-05-2007, 10:52
Nice pics!

unclepooty
10-05-2007, 10:54
I know size doesn't matter, but how do I make mine bigger?:smiley5:
http://forum.scubatoys.com/gallery/files/3/1/9/eagleray_thumb.jpg

DevilDiver
10-05-2007, 11:07
I know size doesn't matter, but how do I make mine bigger?:smiley5:
http://forum.scubatoys.com/gallery/files/3/1/9/eagleray_thumb.jpg


Just play around with it until you figure it out.........:smilie39:

DevilDiver
10-05-2007, 11:08
Nicw pics!! What set-up are you using?

diversteve
10-05-2007, 11:18
I know size doesn't matter, but how do I make mine bigger?:smiley5:
http://forum.scubatoys.com/gallery/files/3/1/9/eagleray_thumb.jpg (http://forum.scubatoys.com/gallery/files/3/1/9/eagleray_thumb.jpg) You're posting the thumbnail instead of the picture:

http://forum.scubatoys.com/gallery/files/3/1/9/eagleray.JPG

http://forum.scubatoys.com/gallery/files/3/1/9/eagleray.JPG

unclepooty
10-05-2007, 12:03
http://forum.scubatoys.com/gallery/files/3/1/9/nurseshark.JPG

thanks for the help diver steve

unclepooty
10-05-2007, 12:04
I know size doesn't matter, but how do I make mine bigger?:smiley5:
http://forum.scubatoys.com/gallery/files/3/1/9/eagleray_thumb.jpg


Just play around with it until you figure it out.........:smilie39:

I guess I could try that, I only key with one hand anyway:smiley36:
BTW the shot was taken by dive op in Cancun. still saving for my own.

BobArnold8265
10-05-2007, 12:20
I'm shooting with an Olympus C-8080 camera in an Ikelite housing with an Ikelite DS-125 strobe. I really like the quality of the pictures that I get with the C-8080 but it has too much shutter lag. I'm thinking about buying a newer camera sometime in the near future and am waiting to see the test results on the new Nikon P5100 or Canon G9.