PDA

View Full Version : Lower Back Issues

moosicman
10-17-2007, 20:53
hi there

i am a new comer to diving and plan to get my cert. in late oct/early nov. but i have a hesitation... i have a bit (not overwhelming) of deginerative disk deterioration in my lower back. i also have a bit of a neck problem from time to time....
neither of these give me problems but about once or twice a year & can occur picking up concrete blocks or picking up a pencil. its not instantly debilitating (i could still swim upon initial irritation) but i'm wondering if should consider NOT getting certed....i'm pretty sure i want to because i don't want this small issue to dictate my lifestyle...if it were something much more serious then ok...but not this...or should i think again....any thoughts????

DivingsInMyBlood
10-17-2007, 20:55
You could always have a chat with DAN (divers alert network) or your doctor about this, im no expert on any of this.

moosicman
10-17-2007, 21:06
how or where do i access this DAN??? and thanks for your reply !!!!!:smiley32:

Kokomo
10-17-2007, 21:08
I have low back issues that sound very similar to yours. I've been diving over a year and have not had any problems whatsoever.

DivingsInMyBlood
10-17-2007, 21:21
http://www.diversalertnetwork.org/

Give this a shot and read through the medical questions on there in the menu. :smiley20:

CaptainRon
10-17-2007, 22:00