PDA

View Full Version : wet suit help

nimeister
10-23-2007, 16:25
I am a beginner, what is the best wetsuit for southern california and occasionally caribean diving
Thanks,
Nima

dvrdwn321
10-23-2007, 16:37
Check out Pinnacle wet suits. I have used these suits for both work and recreation ( my avatar pic is in a pinnacle) I own three of them. After many suits, my first P was a suprise, they really hit the nail on the head! Thinner in spots for greater mobility and mirren wool around the body core for some real warmth. I have a 4/5 mil Fusion suit that I dive in, just about anyhere. From tropical to the great lakes in the fall. Can't miss, worth the money, plus after you register on-line you get one heck of a warranty. NO I don't work for them! Good luck.

Prouty33
10-23-2007, 16:53
Everyone will give you a different brand that they have that is the best suit around. Plain and simple: go to a LDS and try them on...find one that is comfortable, fits you well, and that you think is in the appropriate price range. Everyone is going to like something different, so trial and error is about the only thing thats really going to work for you. Southern Cal is chilly if I'm not mistaken, so ask around what most divers are using. Personally, if you aren't sure what kind of suit or what thicknesses you might need, I'd rent a few different ones from the LDS to see what brand/thicknesses you are most comfortable in.

cooltravelnews
10-23-2007, 18:22
The wetsuit that fits and keeps you warm is always the best. In cold California a dry suit would be the most comfortable. However, if your name is not Rockafeller or Gates you might choak on the price. I love Bare and their Velocity suits. Their combination of panels and excellent movement characteristics can make up for that buffet you might be carrying around. They hold up and if you do your research on the net the price is great for a Canadian made suit. :smiley20:

Steve Scuba
10-26-2007, 14:19