PDA

View Full Version : Advice on adopting some DIR setups

BobbyWombat
10-28-2007, 23:03
OK, so I'm far from a DIR or tech diver, but I can see the benefits in the gear setup. I am a relative newbie w/ OW cert only.

So, let's play "Good Idea / Bad Idea".

Scenario 1:
I like the idea of having a bungied octo on a necklace. I am thinking about adopting this as my normal setup. I would retain my short primary hose, and donate my primary in an emergency.

Good Idea or Bad Idea?

Scenario 2:
I adopt both the bungied octo AND the long primary hose in my setup. Only training on this is what I get from reading some stuff online and practicing w/ it when diving since I know no one with this setup that can show me the ropes. Going tech (if ever) is a looong ways off.

Good Idea or Bad Idea?

-----------------
Appreciate any feedback I can get. Looking for the pitfalls in both approaches, and what I would need to do to implement either approach AND be safe (i.e. do I need some training in using a long hose?).

Thanks.

mitsuguy
10-28-2007, 23:23
I see nothing wrong with the DIR style of diving, however, its not how people are trained by PADI or NAUI... the only downfall I see is in standard rec diving, some confusion by those not familiar with the alternative... this may and probably won't matter if you are always diving with the same group of people, but if you ever get instabuddied somewhere, they will not be entirely familiar with your setup...

I plan on going all the way through to DM and above, so, I almost have to stay with the standard, more common setup - if not, I would be thinking about this setup as well...

floater
10-29-2007, 07:38
OK, so I'm far from a DIR or tech diver, but I can see the benefits in the gear setup. I am a relative newbie w/ OW cert only.

So, let's play "Good Idea / Bad Idea".

Scenario 1: