PDA

View Full Version : When Did You Feel Like A Diver?

Vercingetorix
07-19-2007, 13:25
What do I mean? Let me answer by way of personal anecdote. As of this past weekend, I have 20 dives, so I'm still new to this game. I've just completed NAUI Scuba Diver Rescue. At the end of it all, I felt a certain serenity about diving. I feel truly comfortable.
<DIV>Up until this time, I felt almost like a pretender. That is,I had the gear and I was blowing bubbles. I could do the skills (mask clearing, reg recovery, basic buoyancy, etc). But I felt I wasn't "one of the group", i.e., not a diver. Perhaps, these were my insecurities coming to the fore.</DIV>
<DIV></DIV>
<DIV>Yet, this past weekend, I had an opportunity to observe an OW class as they did their lake dives and skills. As I hovered there, suspended in watery space, I saw myself six months ago during my OW lake dives. I saw how far I've come. Yes, I know, I've a long way to go; but, that is not the point of this posting.</DIV>
<DIV></DIV>
<DIV>During my Rescue lake dives, I had a couple situations (documented elsewhere) where I should have been frightened, perhaps panicked. Rather, I did as I was trained and everything was kosher. Then, again, I'm not one to usually panic. I tend to get angry at a sudden turn of events and swear a lot.</DIV>
<DIV></DIV>
<DIV>It's all very Zen, I know. So, when did you achieve that comfort level when you knew "This is where I belong?"</DIV>
<DIV></DIV>
<DIV>And, to get his out of the way early so nobody has to repeat it: I was comfortable the very first day.</DIV>

jacewindu
07-19-2007, 13:42
for me, being in the water has always been a comfortable situation, whether it's swimming, snorkeling or diving.
i've always had a solid grasp on the skills required to be a confident diver, but for me it's hard to pinpoint a time when i crossed any sort of 'barrier'

the best way to describe it is that I get better with every dive I make - which is something that I hope never goes away