PDA

View Full Version : So... how exactly do manual strobes work?



davieeeee
11-01-2007, 23:00
Do you.. press the shutter then press another button on the strobe to set it off at the correct time? Is this difficult without a buddy?
Im used to land based photography, but underwater is a whole new arena for me!

Puffer Fish
11-02-2007, 05:12
Do you.. press the shutter then press another button on the strobe to set it off at the correct time? Is this difficult without a buddy?
Im used to land based photography, but underwater is a whole new arena for me!
The only difference between manual and auto strobes, is that you have to adjust the correct amount of light out of one...

Flash timing and triggering is automatic, just the amount of flash (as the first two are way to fast for any human).

Some of the new camera's have special "extra" flashes, and the strobe has to be set to act correctly. After that, you shot the picture, the strobe goes off, you look and see how it looks, and learn to adjust.

bversteegh
11-04-2007, 00:58
There are 2 basic ways to trigger external strobes -

1) Using a sync cord that electrically fires the strobe. Your camera must have a hotshoe, and the housing an external connector for this to be available.

2) Optically triggered by the strobe in your camera. Ikelite has a sensor that triggers the strobe (called an EV controller), other manufacturers use fiber optic cables. As the earlier post stated - you have to know whether your camera uses a preflash to set exposure to know how to set up the strobe.

Once triggered, you need to control the duration of the strobe flash to set exposure. Some strobes have manual controllers that allow you to vary the exposure by turning a dial - the brute force method is to vary the distance from the strobe to the subject by moving strobe arms. If your camera allows you to shoot full manual, you can also change the f/# to vary exposure, while holding shutter speed constant