PDA

View Full Version : your ideal set up



chewyjr15
11-11-2007, 17:15
for about a grand what your ideal set up be. Including housing camera and strobe?


thanks

chewyjr15
11-11-2007, 18:25
so far i was thinking maybe a G9 or Canon Powershot A650 with a cannon housing and most probably a ys27 strobe but maybe if i can pinch some pennies a ys110

what do you guys think?

danktex
11-11-2007, 20:37
Definitely step up to the YS-110 if you can. It will make all the difference.

chewyjr15
11-11-2007, 21:03
how so? becuase of the focus light?

danktex
11-11-2007, 21:08
It is a stronger strobe. Honestly I have an Inon Z-240 and never use the focus light.

superkingkong
11-11-2007, 21:15
I'll be getting the G9 with underwater casing and Inon Z-240 :)

danktex
11-11-2007, 21:18
Love my Z-240. Nice manageable size.

chewyjr15
11-12-2007, 10:15
if i get a G9 can i use the canon housing? is their any need to pay more for the ikelite housing?

BobArnold8265
11-12-2007, 14:51
i don't think I could get my dream outfit for under a grand. More like $1500. Right now it would be a Canon G9, Ike housing and Ike DS-125. Actually, I might be able to get my dream set-up for $1000 since I already own the DS-125 strobe :smiley20:

Puffer Fish
11-12-2007, 15:07
Only part of mine I don't own is the strobes.. and a set of INON's is what I would like. Their ability to reduce the power used for the batteries in your camera, is one giant plus for them...Don't need the 240's though.

superkingkong
11-12-2007, 15:19
if i get a G9 can i use the canon housing? is their any need to pay more for the ikelite housing?

yes, you can. it's WP-DC21

IE, this one selling at Amazon.

Amazon.com: Canon WP-DC21 Underwater housing for Canon G9 Digital Cameras: Camera & Photo (http://www.amazon.com/Canon-WP-DC21-Underwater-housing-Digital/dp/B000V74S1Y)

Puffer Fish
01-28-2008, 08:13
so far i was thinking maybe a G9 or Canon Powershot A650 with a cannon housing and most probably a ys27 strobe but maybe if i can pinch some pennies a ys110

what do you guys think?
the YS110 (which I now have two of) is amazing technology. But be aware that you will need to attach the fiber optic cable to the camera... On mine, I used a sheet of black polypro, cut to attach to the back of the defuser, removed the defuser and glued the two pieces together, then drilled a 7mm hole right over the center of the strobe tube. You then just plug the fiber optic cable in...

If you wanted to be fancy, you could just make a plastic black plate that attaches where the defuser does, but my camera has a focus light right next to the strobe, so i did not want to loose it... The G9 does not.

RoyN
01-30-2008, 13:28
Ohh....I don't know what the ultimate setup would be...but I bet it will kick butt though. :D