PDA

View Full Version : Regulator 101

RHoodJr
11-15-2007, 22:25
Hello all,

I am sure these questions have been posted and discussed before on this board and apologize if Iím repeating anything. I am relatively new to diving and absolutely new at purchasing equipment. As a warm water, vacation diver Iíve always rented my equipment other then M/F/S. I am now at a stage (no pun intended) that I want that extra security of owning a BC and regulator so I know their service history and to increase the comfort zone of using the same equipment for each dive. The BC decision has been made with a Zeagle Scout soon to be ordered at ST, however the next tough decision is the reg. I have read the many threads on this and Scuba board, have googled for reviews and stats of many different regs. Talked with divers and LDS employees about what they sold and what they suggested and still end up confused. So I will ask the questions here that has probably been asked by many. What should I be looking for when making my decisions. The most common answer I get from LDSs is it is a personal preference. OK that works if you know what that may be. Itís not like buying a car and you can take it out for a test drive! I read about all of the great features each manufacture lists but donít have a clue half the time what it means as a end result. So Iím asking for help developing a short list of regs to focus on for the type of diving I do. I donít think I need a lot of bell and whistles such as adjustable resistance, dive pre-dive switches etc. or do I. How many LP and HP ports should I want? Should I be looking at something better then the standard rental reg lines? Regulator 101 would be helpful.

CompuDude
11-15-2007, 22:46
Adjustable resistance is really nice to have. I'd move it closer to the top of the list, personally.

As to the rest, what kind of diving do you do, or will you be doing, in what geographical area?