PDA

View Full Version : Top of the line computers?

JugglingMonkeys
07-21-2007, 10:47
I'm a new diver. Just certified open water. Buying initial gear. What are the "top-of-the-line" computers? Ones that will do both nitrox and air. What are brand names and model numbers?
<DIV>
<DIV></DIV>i know that's a difficult question since there are so many choices and individual preferences, etc. But as a total newbie i'm looking for some direction.</DIV>
<DIV></DIV>thanks very much!
<DIV></DIV>

TommyB
07-21-2007, 11:24
2 top of the line that ScubaToys carry is the
Areis Elite T3
Full details on the T3
http://www.diveaeris.com/p_computers_elitet3.html

ST only shows the epic, but they have the T3, not sure why they
have not updated their product page yet??
http://www.scubatoys.com/store/detail.asp?product_id=AerisEpic

and the

Oceanic vt3
http://www.scubatoys.com/store/detail.asp?product_id=VT3

Both made by the same company, just some cosmetic changes on the layouts.
I think the vt3 only goes to 190ft, the t3 does 300 ft.

I have the T3. due to a little bit bigger character display.

list 899.00

downunder
07-21-2007, 11:25
From what I see, it is SOMEWHAT a personal preference. There are some basic things, but beyond that - some like conservative tables built in and some like agressive (then set the warnings as conservative as they like). I bought the Dacor Extreme (air-integrated wireless)a while back and have loved it. It doesn't do Nitrox, but that hasn't been a problem for me. My son bought the Airlab and I couldn't find more computer for the money. It isn't wireless, but that doesn't bother him. People complained about the size of the characters, but he doesn't have a problem with that either and I can easily see the numbers when I double check him myself.
<DIV></DIV>
<DIV>Also, if you are going to keep the dive log on the computer, you really need air-integrated so that it shows breathing rates and pressure information. I highly recommend that!</DIV>

tc_rain