PDA

View Full Version : Br-r-r. After 7 days on a liveaboard I get cold.

weight-n-sea
11-17-2007, 20:53
I'm new to this, but need help before the next liveaboard experience. Just finished up a week in Fiji and at end of week I was wearing a diveskin (.5), a 3 mil and a shortie on top. Still wasn't really warm. Saw a woman with a Titanium Henderson 7ml/5ml combination that she wore all week and was warm as toast. If you feel toasty at the end, are you sweating bullets in the beginning of the week? What's your recommendation when you're doing 25+ dives in a row. I'm 5'6 and 125 pounds (and over 50) but I don't know if that has anything to do with anything. Thanks.

abcitydiver
11-18-2007, 00:43
I Would think all kinds of factors are or could be at play here. Including how well you are re-fueling (eating) resting, if your suit is dry by the time you dive again, water temperatures, sun..wind..rest, etc.
The bottom line, sounds like you should invest in one heavier suit, and try and still bring your layered options....options, options options!

Zenagirl
11-18-2007, 07:28
The other thread has a good link to an article. Basically I think you need to start with a thicker suit to prevent heat loss in the first place. When we did our first liveaboard in Belize, the water was 79 degrees. Everyone thought I was nuts with my 5mm full suit, but within 2 days all the ladies (and some of the gents) were asking to borrow thicker suits from the boat, or layering two 3mm suits.

ladyfish
11-18-2007, 07:50
Zenagirl is right. Start off warm and stay warm all week! I've worn a 7 mil in 80 degree water. Why? I HATE to be cold. It was a bit of overkill, but I wasn't sure about the water temps, and I'd rather be too warm than too cold. You can always let the water into your suit by unzipping or pulling out on the neck seal.