PDA

View Full Version : fastest way to get a wetsuit dry?

chewyjr15
11-19-2007, 23:04
any trick to getting a suit to dry quickley?

lemonquist
11-19-2007, 23:13
my instructor told me to throw it in the washing machine, set it on the "delicates" setting, rinse with cold water and let the washing machine spin it dry. then hang it inside out. the machine does the heavy lifting.

I'm extremely new at this, so i'm also curious to find out what more experienced people do to dry off their wetsuits.

navyhmc
11-19-2007, 23:42
I'm not an advocate of putting your WS in the dryer or washing machine to spin or whatever. Start with the suit inside out and put it in a warm spot-but not too warm. Then, after in inside is mostly dry, turn it outside right and let it hang again. Not rocket science, a little slow but I've done this with one suit and it lasted 20+ years

scubaaaronh
11-20-2007, 07:50
Put it in a small room with a dehumidifier (sp?). Totally dry the next morning. You may have to empty the dehumidifier once during the drying time. Walmart has one for about 50 bucks online thats works pretty well. The bigger the unit the less you have to empty it though. Had an instructor show me that trick last summer. It was so nice the second day of diving climbing into a dry suit.

WV Diver
11-20-2007, 09:31
my instructor told me to throw it in the washing machine, set it on the "delicates" setting, rinse with cold water and let the washing machine spin it dry. then hang it inside out. the machine does the heavy lifting.

I've done this for years but don't use the delicate cycle. :smiley36: I can't begin to tell you the amount of abuse my wetsuit for work takes. I wash it every chance I get which can be only once a week and that's not good.

Anyway, I wash all my personal and all our work suits in a regular washing machine then just hang them inside out over night then turn them.