PDA

View Full Version : Best low-end regulator for self-service?

band
11-20-2007, 06:50
Hello Gentlemen!

I want to buy inexpensive (1st buy) regulator that I should service by myself.
I'm an engineer, so this isn't an issue for me.
So the question is in selection brand and model of the regulator first and second stages.
As I think, the “best choose” regulator should have:
- Reliable and proven design
- Available and not expansive repair/service kits and spare parts
- Easy disassemble/assemble without any "special" tools
- Available Service Manuals (desirable)
Now in my list of regulators are: Mares MR12 Rebel, Aqualung Titan and Tusa RS-130.

Joe & Larry, are any repair/service kits at your shop for sell? What price?

ScubaToys Larry
11-20-2007, 07:28
We have service kits available for any of the brands we sell, and as far as manuals, I'm slowly going through and getting every manual I can get my hands on posted up on our page: Scuba diving Manuals - Service Manuals - Regulator, Computer, Owners Manuals (http://www.scubatoys.com/manuals.asp)

For example, here is the page on a MR12 exploded view of the first stage: Mares Dealer Service Manual 2001 - Page 25 of 117 (http://www.scubatoys.com/servicemanuals/mares/mares_repair_manual_2001/Mares_Repair_Manual_200100025.html)

So I couldn't get you parts for aqualung... but no problem for mares or tusa... and depending on what brand and what kit, they run about 20 - 25 bucks but some can go as high as 50+ for a kit (like some poseidons).

keyshunter
11-20-2007, 12:15
Hello Gentlemen!

I want to buy inexpensive (1st buy) regulator that I should service by myself.
I'm an engineer, so this isn't an issue for me.
So the question is in selection brand and model of the regulator first and second stages.
As I think, the “best choose” regulator should have:
- Reliable and proven design
- Available and not expansive repair/service kits and spare parts
- Easy disassemble/assemble without any "special" tools