PDA

View Full Version : VERY different bottom times.....why?

divingchef
11-21-2007, 18:23
Im a newbie to computer use underwater and out of too many years on boats (redundant systems) or reluctance to enter into (and trust) the modern age, I dive with two computers....a tusa iq700 in my console and an oceanic veo 250 as a back up on my wrist.

I have noticed EXTREMELY different remaining bottom times when diving with the two. Up to 30 or 40 min difference. I checked and double checked that I had both set to 21% O2 and I did. Can anyone help me as to how it can be SO different?

Thanks in advance.

awap
11-21-2007, 18:29
Different algorithms. Oceanic (pelagic ?sp?) are know to be in the most "liberal" class of computers. Yet there is no eveidence that they are any more prone to bending a diver than more consersvative models. I decided long ago that Oceanic computers were my choice.

divingchef
11-21-2007, 18:36
thanks, makes sense....naui is a bit different than padi than USN than NOAA etc....I was very surprised at how different the times were.....Its tempting to ignore the conservative computer....thanks...

p.s. cool deal with the tooth fairy thing...my dad was a dentist and he tried to make a big deal out of it for his patients....oh yeah, we have a golden too....her name dixie 1 year old.

awap
11-21-2007, 18:46
thanks, makes sense....naui is a bit different than padi than USN than NOAA etc....I was very surprised at how different the times were.....Its tempting to ignore the conservative computer....thanks...

p.s. cool deal with the tooth fairy thing...my dad was a dentist and he tried to make a big deal out of it for his patients....oh yeah, we have a golden too....her name dixie 1 year old.