PDA

View Full Version : Nitrox

nrobinson
11-23-2007, 16:43
So I am new to the Scuba world and don't have very many dives under my belt, but I am already looking to future certifications and dive adventures. I have considered getting my Nitrox ceritification, however I have received mixed thoughts from divers who dive Nitrox. A couple of divers have said it really isn't worth the hassle. What do all of you Nitrox divers think?

navyhmc
11-23-2007, 16:50
There are some advantages to nitrox. The biggest advantage is the increased down time. Another is that your actual Total Nitrogen Times are less because the available nitrogen in the mix is less.

The disadvantges include: More costly to get a fill, less places to get a fill, more time needed to plan a dive and is of limited advantage unless you have others who are nitrox certified as well.

Personally, I think nitrox is worth it. But you must make your own decision.

Good luck

Illini_Fan
11-23-2007, 16:50
I haven't dove Nitrox yet. Got certified last week and will use Nitrox in the Bahamas over New Years. I held off on Nitrox until my air consumption improved. Not that I'm great in terms of SAC right now, but when I first started, Nitrox would have been close to useless since I was consuming air so fast --you might not have that issue, but something to keep in mind as you lay-out your training calendar

comet24
11-23-2007, 16:59
I would take the class as you will learn a lot about diving that you don't get in your OW class. Then you can decide what you want to do.

If your doing just 2 dives a day it might not be a big advantage. On the other hand I did a liveaboard last month and did 27 dives in 6 days. I was glad I was diving on Nitrox. Could I have made all the dives on air. Maybe but thats a lot of nitrogen loading to your system and I will that the advantage of Nitrox or air.

BouzoukiJoe A.K.A. wrecker130 AKA Chuck Norris AKA joeforbroke (banned)
11-23-2007, 17:30