PDA

View Full Version : Shore Diving Chicago / Milwaukee area

DarinMartell
12-04-2007, 18:42
Hello, I am a newbie and looking for Dive Sites and buddies for shore diving in Lake Michigan (or other lakes) anywhere between Chicago and Milwaukee. I would love to hear any suggestions!

BuzzF117
12-04-2007, 18:52
I don't think you can shore dive in Chicago, if I am not mistaken there is a city ordinance against it but I am not sure.

Formerly 45yroldNewbie
12-04-2007, 19:26
I don't think you can shore dive in Chicago, if I am not mistaken there is a city ordinance against it but I am not sure.

I think you're right with the possible exception of Evanston. I think you can enter from shore off Evanston Beach and swim out to a barge wreck about 30 yards out. I'll try to to find a verification source but you could probably call the Coast Guard Station in Milwaukee and Illinois and ask them too.

I have a small (17') boat that given acceptable weather is able to handle Lake Michigan. I will be seeking out several wrecks summer '08 if you want to go along I'll keep you in mind.:smiley20:

DarinMartell
12-04-2007, 19:32
Definitly keep me in mind. I did two wreck dives off milwaukee that were great last year. You might want to think about Lake Geneva also. My LDS charters their on some Thursdays, there is a wreck and they also go to get old bottles.

Illini_Fan
12-04-2007, 19:38
How is Lake Geneva diving? I occasionally get up to my sister's place in McHenry and it would be a quick trip to Lake Geneva

DarinMartell
12-04-2007, 21:26
Have not gone yet but the LDS I use does go on some 2 tank dives on Thursdays at a cost of $45. They say as long as you go during the week when the boats are not killing the vis it's good diving.

Illini_Fan
12-04-2007, 21:52
Cool - thanks for the info.

DarinMartell
12-04-2007, 22:28