PDA

View Full Version : Best & Worst Gear

PhD4JC
12-05-2007, 08:54
What is the best, most useful scuba gear you have ever purchased?

What is the most useless piece of scuba debris you have ever purchased?

for me (I'm still a newbie in the gear category),

useful: Sherwood O2/Nitrox computer. I feel so much safer diving my OWN profile, and I dont have to remember to check surface intervals, water temp, or ask someone else for data.

useless: full footed fins. I guess they worked when I had nothing else, but now I would not be caught dead (well, maybe dead, then I wouldnt care) in the ocean without shoes on, even under my fins. Especially during shore entry and exit.

navyhmc
12-05-2007, 08:59
Most useful: I have to agree with the computer.
Most useless: The Nautilus CVS BCD or maybe the Sea-voice underwater voicemitter

I still keep my full foot fins to putter around in the pool and for snorkelling in lakes.

Grin
12-05-2007, 09:13
Most useless thing I ever bought:
Zeagle Octo inflator
I am a big Zeagle fan and have Zeagle regs etc... But that item they sold me is a total POS. I dove it one day, it freeflowed. I had it adjusted by the shop and the next dive it fell apart(unscrewed and parts disapeared into the blue). New parts ordered. Freeflowed. Left at shop to have fixed. Called Zeagle to have it repaired. I forget the rest, as I have tuned that situation out of my life. It's still there at that shop. That was 2-3 years ago. I feel it's junk and I cannot sell it to anyone on Ebay as it doesn't work. Every company has good and bad items. Put that one on your list of "never try this thing from this company". I have heard many of the same reports from others about the Zeagle Octo Inflator. What a letdown that thing was! It was well worth the price of not going to pick it up and try it again. Some things are just better chalked up to a bad situation and ditched.

RoadRacer1978
12-05-2007, 09:30