PDA

View Full Version : GPS Help

Formerly 45yroldNewbie
12-05-2007, 21:13
I don't need a fish finder but I certainly do need a decent GPS. I think a handheld or portable would work best, that way I could use it both on the boat and in the car. I have done some shopping and comparing and now I'm more confused than when I started. Can anybody help me out with what features would be useful (ie. compass, Barometric Pressure, etc - sounds neat and like something I'd like to have but are they really useful?). Is there anything else I need to look for? I am planning on spending no more than $250-300.

Thanks in advance!

wheelman
12-05-2007, 21:39
I'm no expert... but when I made my decision for a portable gps, I made water proof and replaceable batteries my top two factors. Most have the compass, altitude, speed, etc standard. So based on my limited knowledge I purchased a Garmin 72, basic functions, easy to use and meets the first 2 criteria for travel and recreational purposes.

Formerly 45yroldNewbie
12-06-2007, 07:19
[quote=wheelman;102839]I'm no expert... but when I made my decision for a portable gps, I made water proof and replaceable batteries my top two factors. Most have the compass, altitude, speed, etc standard. So based on my limited knowledge I purchased a Garmin 72, basic functions, easy to use and meets the first 2 criteria for travel and recreational purposes.[/quote

I was looking at that one and a couple other of the Garmins. Have you used it out on the water yet? Do the position updates come in close to real time? Last time I relied on a GPS it would only update once every three to five minutes. Pretty much useless on the water!!!

WV Diver
12-06-2007, 08:03
GPSr's do work in real time but may be slow at times due to adverse weather conditions that prevent clear signals through the atmosphere or by geographic barriers such as mountains or heavy foliage in terrestrial areas.