PDA

View Full Version : Oceanic and Aeris recalls on 1st stages, should these brands be avoided?

kauai diver
12-30-2007, 16:47
I liked the Aeris and Oceanic regs pretty well and they are in the running for an upcoming purchase. I am a bit concerned that the recall I believe was reguarding inferior metals used in the seats that could cause a catastrophic failure, spread over a rather extensive model lines.

? these were bad enough to fail, how many regs may have shortened servicable lifespans due to inferior metals?

With recent toys with lead paint, and poison dog food coming into our country, plus my own experience with the inferior metals used in some China built tractors. I am a plumber and the brass/bronze and workmanship of China made valves and steel pipe are inferior to U.S. made ones by far. They do not seem to hold life at the same priority that most of U.S. do, quanity over quality etc. Even U.S manufactured products are riddled with parts from China, what is one to do ?

I understand that Aeris and Oceanic have wonderful warranties that will take care of the consumer, but who needs the hastle and inconvenience.

? Do you feel that one recall is an isolated case and the regs are great and have a long serviceable life ?
? Does ST and other reputible internet dealers check the stock they sell to be sure none is included in the recall?
? Are Zeagle regs all U.S. parts ? Atomics yes, any others ?

fireflock
12-30-2007, 16:50
Yes
Yes
Yes

terrillja
12-30-2007, 20:26
I liked the Aeris and Oceanic regs pretty well and they are in the running for an upcoming purchase. I am a bit concerned that the recall I believe was reguarding inferior metals used in the seats that could cause a catastrophic failure, spread over a rather extensive model lines.