PDA

View Full Version : Pedometer? (I believe its called)

easyrider003
12-31-2007, 10:30
Just wondering if anyone has ever used a pedometer? Its used to wear on your belt and measures how far you have walked. Just wondering if anyone has ever used and and how accurate are they?

snagel
12-31-2007, 10:44
I think the basic concept is good. These were very popular a few years back. Even McDonalds was promoting this. Here are my thoughts. It's based on the value that walking so many steps equates to burning calories. I can't remember exactly how many steps equal how many calories. But, those that have used them have told me that it depends on where on the belt the device is attached. Here is my thought. Walking is good, so if this gets you out walking it's a good thing. It's kinda cool to see how many steps you have taken and if this motivates you to walk go for it. I'm not an expert here, but in my opinion, there is a factor of getting your heart beat up. The higher your heart rate is the more calories you are burning. So, if you take 5,000 steps in a day walking around the office on short strolls; I don't think is the same as taking 5,000 steps walking around a track where your heart rate is higher.

Have I used one - no. But, everybody in my office was about 2 years ago. They stopped after about a week.

Are they accurate? I think it depends on where they are placed on the belt. Have to measure the hip bounce.

Are they accurate as far as burning calories? Depends, IMHO, if you are also getting your heart rate up.

Bottom line, if this motivates you to walk - great.

S. Nagel

navyhmc
12-31-2007, 10:50
They can be fairly accurate on flat ground. That is as long as you have you stride entered correctly. When you get to uneven ground or stairs, it is not as accurate. I've used one a few times, on city walks, it was fine. When i got to trails and wilderness, not quite as good. It was usually a few miles ahead by the time I was done.

Mtrewyn
12-31-2007, 11:04