PDA

View Full Version : Mares H.U.B. Avantgarde

DZorn00
01-08-2008, 12:33
I was looking at this and thought that might not be a bad idea. I wanted to know what some of you Vetran Divers thought of the Air trim and also what some of the PRO's and Con's of having a totally integrated system might be. I can think of a few but I am not that experienced and wanted to hear from others. Thanks

CODMAN
01-08-2008, 13:24
Zorn, don't you know you'll die if you use anything else than a BP/W?:smiley11:

:smilie39:(sorry guys, I couldn't help it!!!!):smilie39:

Zorn, I'm by no means a veteran, but do use a lot of Mares products. The HUB is a fully integrated system that never really cought on in America (and not even in europe from what I know). I don't think it is a bad product (most Mares gear is very well made), but it ruffled some feathers by 1- being very different from the current standard equipment and 2- not being very flexible in options (you basically can't change much about it or swap out individual parts; It comes as it is, love it or hate it). Anyways, there are some advantages to such a system. Certainly some disadvantages (like not being able to choose individual parts). Getting service done on one would probably be hard...:smiley13:

As far as the airtrim goes, that I can talk about since I have it on my Morphos pro BCD. I simply love it! It works great, is always in the same place, permits very precise control of buoyancy, dumps air very quickly and in almost any position. I simply love it and wouldn't change for anything. Once again, it's sometimes a love-it or hate-it kind of thing and many people are affraid of new technology. Personally, I chose to embrace it and am very happy.:smiley20: One thing though, before a dive with a new buddy, I always make sure to explain how the inflator works just in case...

Cheers!:smiley20: