PDA

View Full Version : Common Hydro Failure?

SarahBella
01-16-2008, 08:08
I was talking to the owner of an LDS the other day about which tanks would be a good investment when he told me the most common type of tank that fails Hydro is a high pressure tank. Anyone ever heard this? I am not sure if this was his personal experience or if it was based on some statistic but I alway thought tanks would last many years if they were taken care of regardless of the pressure.

fireflock
01-16-2008, 08:24
What kind of tanks was he selling? :)

I'm far from an expert on the subject, but I think some of the 3442 series tanks have a slightly different hydro procedure than others. I've heard of facilities using the wrong procedure and failing those tanks when they likely would have passed using the correct procedure.

Hopefully someone with more details can chime in.

Rich

in_cavediver
01-16-2008, 11:10
The only tanks I have seen/heard fail more often is the older 3500psi high pressure tanks. Comudude I believe has had one or two fail. One of my buddies has 1 fail. (first hydro too)

Most of the common 3442 tanks are just now coming due for thier first hydro so I doubt there is a wealth of data for them. (PST introduced them in 2003)

Puffer Fish
01-16-2008, 16:56
The only tanks I have seen/heard fail more often is the older 3500psi high pressure tanks. Comudude I believe has had one or two fail. One of my buddies has 1 fail. (first hydro too)

Most of the common 3442 tanks are just now coming due for thier first hydro so I doubt there is a wealth of data for them. (PST introduced them in 2003)
We are coming up on the time where the first of these chrome Moly tanks will get Hydro'd. Will be very interesting if someone has done that with one of the 3442 tanks...(as I have a bunch)

marchand
01-16-2008, 17:23
Strange, I have three of the old 3500psi tanks made by PST in 1991 and they just passed their third hydro.