PDA

View Full Version : Red Filter



mpd525
01-16-2008, 09:30
i am looking at buying a camera for a upcoming trip to the keys. i found a package of a cheaper camera for just over 200, and it comes with a red underwater filter, do i need this. Because if i don't i can save a little bit of money on it. So what do the pros think, get the filter, or not bother and save some cash.

mpd525
01-16-2008, 15:15
never mind, i found an old post about it, i should've looked there first.

Mod feel free to delete the thread

I apologize

dannybot
01-16-2008, 16:03
never mind, i found an old post about it, i should've looked there first.

Mod feel free to delete the thread

I apologize

I tried to find the answer you were talking about, do tell, I'm dying to know, as I have been pondering the same question.

mpd525
01-16-2008, 19:11
here it is danny

http://forum.scubatoys.com/uw-photo-101/439-what-s-benefit-red-filter.html

dannybot
01-17-2008, 17:22
Thanks, that gave pretty much what I was looking for. Next any suggestions for where to get a red filter?

azdiver
01-17-2008, 18:38
why bother with a filter when you can just photoshop the pics when you get home...

dannybot
01-17-2008, 18:52
why bother with a filter when you can just photoshop the pics when you get home...

See the above link.

mpd525
01-17-2008, 21:57
Danny, i found them on Ebay, and several other places i'm sure. I think you have to know what your lens size is to get the right one. You may be able to get it through you camera manufacturer.

dannybot
01-18-2008, 15:12
Olympus PT-038, 46 mm threaded; I've checked their website.

mpd525
01-18-2008, 21:28
Let me know how it works danny, i just ordered an oly fe-280, hopefully everything works with it. Now i just have to order the housing

azdiver
01-19-2008, 08:54
I still think you're better off using photshop (or photo elements - the consumer version) than buying a filter. Click on the link to my divebuddy page and scroll down until you see the section for my photos: all were taken using only the camera's internal flash... and the majority of then didn't need to have color correction done....

dannybot
01-19-2008, 12:11
I'll give it a try, my son has it on his computer, but he is having a LAN party this weekend, so I'll have to wait.

dannybot
01-19-2008, 21:09
Let me know how it works danny, i just ordered an oly fe-280, hopefully everything works with it. Now i just have to order the housing

It is Olympus PT-038, easy to use and all controls and features are retained in the housing, one of the reasons I went eith this combination. LP has it for $139, less 10%. I got mine on buy.com for about that last year.