PDA

View Full Version : Canon Strobe



easyrider003
01-16-2008, 16:34
I just ordered the Canon a570is camera with underwater housing. I was looking for something relatively cheap (nothing scuba related is really cheap though). I ordered both through amazon.com and with two day shipping it was something like $290. Not sure if thats a good deal, but the best that I could find. Anywho. I am headed down to Vortex this weekend, January 19,2008 and I am gonna try it out. Depending on the funds before hopefully going on my cruise, I MAY be interested in purchasing a strobe for it. I was just wondering if anyone could lead me in the right direction for one to fit this camera. I really like sealifes digital strobe (since you can adjust the brightness of the strobe) and was wondering if there was a strobe made for this camera.

Thanks,
Michael

DevilDiver
01-16-2008, 17:38
The Sealife will work with your Cannon. The issue you will have is connecting the fiber optic cable or using the slave sensor on the side of the strobe head. The fiber optic cable is the most dependable but there is really no good way to make the connection.
They suggest using a piece of tape to attach to the front of the housing but it is undependable.:smiley11: I have heard of people using glues or silicone to secure the cable as well. I am sure others might have suggestions on a better way to do this......
You can also uses the slave sensor on the strobe but you would have to use the camera primary flash uncovered to make this work witch would increase the chances of backscatter.:smiley21:

The recycle time on these strobes are long as well. They work fine with a little practice and you can get some great shots but not as quick as some more expensive models......

I would be interested to see what others have to say........

bversteegh
01-17-2008, 00:45
What is your threshold of pain?

You might watch for an Ike DS 50 with manual controller on Ebay - you should be able to get a used set for around 300 (it is around 425 new in a kit). No fiber optic cable to mess with (but the manual controller adds an extra part to mess with). This is a very capable little strobe; just won't handle wide angle with 1 strobe.

Also, the Inon D2000 is a great little strobe, but will cost a little more (between 400 and 600 - depending where you get it (much cheaper to buy from Japan - but you'll get a Japanese manual)). You don't see them used on ebay very much, probably have to buy new.

Don't know much about the S&S YS27, believe ST carries this; so they could probably help you.

NeurosurgeryNP
03-20-2008, 06:28
I just ordered the Canon a570is camera with underwater housing. I was looking for something relatively cheap (nothing scuba related is really cheap though). I ordered both through amazon.com and with two day shipping it was something like $290. Not sure if thats a good deal, but the best that I could find. Anywho. I am headed down to Vortex this weekend, January 19,2008 and I am gonna try it out. Depending on the funds before hopefully going on my cruise, I MAY be interested in purchasing a strobe for it. I was just wondering if anyone could lead me in the right direction for one to fit this camera. I really like sealifes digital strobe (since you can adjust the brightness of the strobe) and was wondering if there was a strobe made for this camera.

Thanks,
Michael


Hi Michael -

I also just got this system (camera and housing from Amazon) this past week. Let me know how it worked for you on your trip and how the pics were without a strobe. I do not plan on diving deep (I am an OW diver only) so I am hoping I dodn't need to invest in a strobe (yet) to get some decent shots. Thanks, Jen